maiknits2

Just another WordPress.com site

Always knitting…even in Asia. July 20, 2012

Filed under: knitting,Travel,Uncategorized — maiknits2 @ 4:39 am
Tags:

I haven’t entered a post lately.  We had so much going on between our short yet long  travel to Asia, coming back to a family reunion with 25 + family in town (that will be my next post) and the kids’ summer activities.  The  trip to Singapore was a long haul – a 22 hr travel time, 18 hrs up in the air.  Thought I’d be able to finish knitting my Summer bolero being on such a long flight, but, unfortunately I wasn’t able to do so.  The on and off turbulent flight got me hanging onto my seat for dear life >,< which made me unable to concentrate on the lacey pattern.  It amazed me how my hubby was able to sleep like a babe in dreamland during our flight.  Me on the other hand could not sleep on planes.  I stayed up reading Time Traveller’s wife by Audrey Niffenegger.  Watched Hunger games twice and 3 foreign films (thank goodness for subtitles).   We finally got to Singapore and being my first time there, I did not know what to expect.  The City was insanely clean ( remember chewing gum is banned in the country).  It is modern, safe and efficient.  People are genuinely nice and very helpful. There was no traffic!  Why is that?  I continued to knit as we got there.  Knitted by the pool and at the wee hours of the morning because of jet lag.  I also knitted on the way back home and still havent finished the project.  It seemed to me i have knitted so much on this trip but did not make a dent.  Anyhow, here are some pix on the trip.  Wish we could have explored a little longer, but so glad to be home with the kids.  I will post my FO (finished object in knitters world) when it gets done.  When will that be?  I think I need to search for a new project!  Ha!

Lacey bolero

I got so many stares while knitting and chillaxin by the pool. knitting is not a thing to do in this part of the world…it gets too hot 😉

Awning structures along a shopping strip on Orchard Rd.

of course, Starbucks is everywhere (btw, i am underneath that structure above. )

But, we dont have these here 🙂

at the food court.

At the museum

In our hotel room

On top of Marina Bay Sands

The Flyer beats the London Eye as the biggest ferris wheel in the world

 

Leave a Reply

