maiknits2

Just another WordPress.com site

Knitting my own Aidez February 28, 2013

Filed under: knitting,Uncategorized — maiknits2 @ 5:52 pm
Tags:

There are about 8000 knitters out there who have queued up Cirilia Rose’s Aidez  on Ravelry and 2500 others who have knitted their Aidez.  Isn’t that amazing?  Its a global knitting gig 🙂  I am inspired to knit it too.  The pattern is so lovely and easy to follow.  I am however very finicky with yarn choices.  At first i have picked up worsted weight yarn just because i could not find a bulky yarn that grabbed my attention at the yarn store.  I swatched, checked gauge, played with yarn and started knitting Aidez on double stranded yarn.  Eck…too rug like.  The material became too stiff.  Back to swatching again after ripping it out.  I tried knitting with the worsted weight, single stranded this time. went down 2 sizes with needles and followed a pattern one size up to get XS.  Frogged it again.  Not liking the drape.  Oh no…hope this is not a sign that i would be knitting and frogging the whole entire project.  I have finally chosen to knit my Aidez in Cascade Eco + in the most delicious looking purple.  Keeping my fingers crossed all will end well.  Below is a pix of the pattern posted on Flickr. 

I think I can do this!  Hmmmm….I know i can 🙂

 
photo
 
Here is pix of what i have knitted and frogged earlier.
double stranded worsted wt.
 
 
 And here is a pix of what  i am knitting my Aidez with-> Cascade Eco+ in purple.
 
The back part of my Aidez
 
The back is done…moving on to the Left front.  Too slow!  I believe i will finish this by Christmas.  At the rate i’m going, i will be awarded best “snail” knitter.
 
The back of Aidez
 
Loving those cables

Loving those cables

I should have joined a KAL.  Makes me knit quicker.  I guess there is no need to rush, right?

 

2 Responses to “Knitting my own Aidez”

  1. Monette Carey Says:

    You’re doing more than well !!!!! I like the purple 😉 And no, you aren’t slow, I know knitters who are slower than you are and that includes me 😉 Besides, knitting is not a race, we took it up to for leisure time. Thanks for sharing your project because it makes me want to take up my needles again! Oh! And thank you many times over for the tips!

  2. Edwina Says:

    Love the color you chose! 😀 The stitch pattern will really show up this way. Yummy cables!


Leave a Reply

